Living a life with perspective

I swear that the person who has been choosing the NaBloPoMo prompts has been in my head lately. This week has truly been all about perspective.traffic

Perspective, a noun, meaning a mental view or outlook. I’m going to add my two cents here and say that it’s also a manner in which we maintain sanity. Life moves fast and we cannot always keep up. Work, family, home, friends, the whirlwind is never ending. Glitches in transportation, a crying child or run in your pantyhose, anything could send you into a tizzy.

Yesterday was a shitty day, just shitty. I left home early because I was in the mood for a bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich from the cafe at my office building. With a traffic jam already mentioned on the morning news report, I took an alternate route to work. My normal twenty-five minute commute turned into an hour because someone got into an accident.

The rest of the day was a blur of court orders and police complaints. The day ended with two back-to-back meetings where I had to report off the cuff because I didn’t have any time to prepare my remarks. The last meeting ended just in time for me to grab my jacket and purse and run like there was someone chasing me out of the building.

I frowned at every red light and every motorist who changed lanes without using their signal. Succumbing to the sin of emotional eating, I stopped at Popeye’s and picked up some food. Once home, I popped open a beer and sat down to devour my chicken while eyeing an apartment that looked as if a hurricane had come through.

A big sigh and a small burp later perspective kicked in. I have a job that I love, a car with which to get there. I have food in my belly and a home that needs tending. So I got off the sofa and started tending to my home. A couple of hours later, my home was back in its normal orderliness and showing signs of a little extra loving care. The candles were lit and wine was poured for a more relaxing night. In the back of mind was the thought that had perspective not kicked my ass, it would have been a shitty night to top a shitty day. I took that thought to bed with me last night.

When I arrived at the office this morning I learned that a colleague was involved in the accident which caused yesterday’s traffic jam. She is fine, but her car is not.

Perspective.

I’m smiling and calm even though today hasn’t been any better than yesterday.

And I had yogurt for lunch.

Leave a Reply

