What a difference three years makes

Over the years, conversations with my daughters seemed to take funny turns.

E: Did you know that Bobby’s taking Tae Kwon Do classes?

J: Yea, I saw that. Working on his black belt.

E: Michelle’s finishing up her mid-wife studies.

J: That is so cool.

Me: How do you guys know all this? I haven’t heard any of this.

E & J: We saw it on Facebook, Mom!

Me: Facewho?

Yea, I was definitely behind the times. I resisted digital photography for a couple of years until finally allowing my kids to gift me with a camera. Now, that camera never leaves my side. I resisted Facebook until finally allowing my kids to sign me up. I am now a Facebook slut enthusiast. Thinking that Facebook was a social network for the young, my mind was changed when I saw that it would grant me an opportunity to keep in touch with my family members, the same way my kids were. I always did hate being the last one in the know.

So, my timeline tells me that I joined on April 13, 2009. Within weeks I had added my family and co-workers and shortly after that I was posting from my phone. Learning to post pictures took me a little longer because I was embarrassed to keep asking for help from my personal IT department (aka E & J). In May 2009, a new page showed up on my feed and I “liked” it immediately. Liking Being Latino was a life changer for me (as corny as that may sound) and probably one of the better decisions I’ve ever made. Because I never know how to do things halfway, I became one of those obsessive fans; liking, commenting, and sharing posts I read on the page became a daily activity for me. It wasn’t until July 2010, when I had the opportunity to meet and speak with BL staff, that I even considered writing for them.

With my kids’ blessings, I submitted my application and my first article  posted in September 2010. Since then, I’ve discussed my separation, my divorce, and defended Being Latino against critics. I’ve attended and written about events, movies, and theater productions; I’ve made life long friends along the way, and probably pissed off a few people. I was dubbed the Social Butterfly and went on to live that nickname to the fullest.

So here we are, three years later, balancing career, passion, family, and friends while trying to get enough sleep to sustain the energized pace I have demanded from my body. And I’m having the time of my life, because, you know, it was never all about me !

Leave a Reply

