Here we go

2012. Whether you want to call it Two Thousand-12 or Twenty-12, it’s a new year. A fresh start. An unwritten page. Personally, I’m entering the new year with a new name and a new commitment to be a better person. Nothing really different from past years, but the ticking of life’s clock makes it just a tad more important to leave the world a better place than when I entered it.

Last year brought me some great opportunities to give back to society, I jumped in with both feet and never looked back. I made sure my super heroine cape was in good repair and affixed a Being Latino logo to my social butterfly wings. Had my life not taken a curve, a few years ago, I might be sitting on my sofa just waiting to transfer my ample bootie into a rocking chair. Instead I am out and about; enjoying special time with family and friends, sitting in a movie theater, making brunch dates, saving up for Broadway plays, dancing at house parties, and in general making AARP membership the gold standard.

So, borrowing a line from one of my favorite writers, “I’m going to go out into the world and be a hero. If you want to, you can watch.” Gwen Zepeda

Leave a Reply

